Idaho Innovation Awards Names 2019 Winners

Press Release

Stoel Rives LLP, Trailhead and the Idaho Technology Council co-sponsor awards program to recognize innovations, innovative professionals and companies throughout Idaho

BOISE, Idaho — The Idaho Innovation Awards is proud to announce the winners of its 14th annual awards program, which recognizes the innovations and entrepreneurs helping to drive Idaho’s economy. The program is organized by Stoel Rives LLP, Trailhead and the Idaho Technology Council (ITC).

The state’s premier business innovation awards program, this year the Idaho Innovation Awards honored groundbreaking innovations and innovators in five categories. A winner in each category and 10 finalists were recognized at the awards ceremony, held as part of ITC’s tenth annual Hall of Fame celebration at Boise Centre.

The 2019 winners are:

Commercialized Innovation of the Year:

  • PreView Side Defender®II by PRECO Electronics®

Consumer Product of the Year:

  • The Play Gym by Lovevery

Early-Stage Innovation of the Year:

  • Joule Case by Joule Case, Inc.

Innovative Company of the Year:

  • Kount

Innovator of the Year:

  • Doug Hackler, American Semiconductor

Nominations were evaluated by a selection committee comprised of leaders from Idaho’s business, technology and academic communities; their votes were tallied by accountants from Deloitte. In addition to announcing the winners, Stoel Rives’ partner and awards program chair Brian Larsen and Stoel Rives’ associate Nick Taylor honored the following finalists:

Commercialized Innovation of the Year

  • Advanced Electrolyte Model by Idaho National Laboratory
  • EVAS by ECCO Safety Group

Consumer Product of the Year

  • Inergy Apex Portable Solar Generator by Inergy
  • Winch Line Shackle Mounts by FACTOR 55 LLC

Early-Stage Innovation of the Year

  • WiFIRE by Idaho National Laboratory

Innovative Company of the Year

  • Cradlepoint
  • Idaho Transportation Department

Innovator of the Year

  • Dr. Henry Chu, Idaho National Laboratory
  • Peter C. Kong, Ph.D., Cogent Energy Systems

Held annually since 2010, the Idaho Technology Council Hall of Fame recognizes innovative leaders who have made a significant contribution to the state’s technology community. Idaho National Laboratory and the J.R. Simplot Company were this year’s inductees. The event also featured keynote speaker Intuit Chairman of the Board Brad Smith.

About the Innovation Awards: Stoel Rives has celebrated innovative companies and their accomplishments since hosting the first Innovation Awards in Salt Lake City in 2002. Each consecutive year, the law firm has honored groundbreaking advancements from emerging to established businesses. In its commitment to foster the innovation ecosystem across its footprint, Stoel Rives has since expanded its Innovation Awards program to Boise, Idaho (2006) and Sacramento, California (2016). In 2017, the firm partnered with the Puget Sound Business Journal as a presenting sponsor of the publication's inaugural innovation awards program in Seattle, Washington. For more information visit

About Trailhead: Trailhead helps Boiseans start and scale businesses and high-impact projects. Founded by entrepreneurs for entrepreneurs, Trailhead is the place to find resources, explore new technologies, and create something all your own. From our casual, yet connected coworking space to high-octane workshops, we are dedicated to giving entrepreneurs access to the tools and connections they need to build something with impact. For more information visit

About Idaho Technology Council: The Idaho Technology Council exists to connect, inform and promote the technology companies in Idaho and is dedicated to foster the growth of technology companies in the state, primarily in the areas of information technology, agriscience and energy. The ITC provides a valuable forum for industry, research, educators, investors and government throughout the state. The ITC advocates for creating a strong, innovative technology ecosystem and a high-quality, high-paid workforce. For more information, visit

Related Practices & Industries



Media Contact

Jamie Moss (newsPRos)
Media Relations
w. 201.493.1027 c. 201.788.0142

Mac Borkgren
Senior Manager, Marketing Communications & Operations

Jump to Page
Stay Informed Arrow

Subscribe to Our Updates