5 Things Alaska Businesses and Travelers to Alaska Need to Know about Mandatory Self-Quarantine

Legal Alert
COVID-19 Resource Hub

In Alaska, Governor Dunleavy has taken several state-wide steps in response to the coronavirus pandemic: schools have been closed through May 1, 2020, in-person food and bar service have been shut down, and gatherings of more than 10 people have been banned.  On March 25, Alaska’s COVID-19 Health Mandate (“Mandate”) went into effect, requiring international and interstate travelers to Alaska to self-quarantine and monitor for illness for 14 days after arrival.  Here’s what you need to know. 

  1. All people arriving in Alaska, whether resident, worker, or visitor, are required to self-quarantine for 14 days and monitor for illness. 
  2. Upon arrival, travelers are required to fill out the mandatory State of Alaska Travel Declaration Form.  That form will indicate your designated quarantine location (either your residence or rented lodging) and you are required to go there directly from the airport and may not leave or have visitors except for medical emergencies or medical care (or as otherwise authorized by Unified Command).
  3. While in self-quarantine, you should work from home, unless you support critical infrastructure industries or entities.
  4. There are 25 categories of industries and entities identified as “Alaska Critical Workforce Infrastructure”—review Attachment A to the Mandate to see if your business is covered.  If you operate in one of these areas and have workers who are travelling to Alaska that are subject to the Mandate, you need to submit a plan to  Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development as soon as possible (originally due by 3:00 pm on March 24, 2020), explaining how you will “avoid the spread of COVID 19 and not endanger the lives of the communities in which you operate, of others who serve as a part of that infrastructure or the ability of that critical infrastructure to function.”  Templates and other resources for businesses operating in Alaska can be found at the link in this paragraph.
  5. There is a fine of up to $25,000 and/or imprisonment of up to a year for non-compliance with the Mandate and its travel and reporting requirements.

Related Professionals

Media Contact

Jamie Moss (newsPRos)
Media Relations
w. 201.493.1027 c. 201.788.0142

Mac Borkgren
Senior Manager, Marketing Communications & Operations

Jump to Page
Stay Informed Arrow

Subscribe to Our Updates